Have you eaten?

Jiak-Pa-Buay? Random scribbles of everyday life and sharing of recipes

Vanila Pods August 12, 2007

Filed under: Food — xxtlhxx @ 4:00 pm

img_9095.jpg

I finally bought vanilla pods after hearing and seeing so much of it on TV and in blogs. I saw it at Phoon Huat and bought it without having any idea what to do with it, and it has been sitting in the freezer for a month or so. And when I saw the vanilla cream recipe for a fruit tart ..Bingo! I knew that was the recipe I’ve got to try. I’ve been wanting to try fruit tart and it cream looks wonderfully yummy.

The result was fantastic. The vanilla cream is so yummy and the smell of fresh vanilla is just so amazing. And knowing that it’s a light cream, ie just a little butter, makes it even better. And one thing lead to another. With vanilla cream, I knew only fresh fruits would do, so I bought a punnet of fresh raspberry. The result ….. a beautiful creation. I’ll surely make this again especially to a gathering. Invite me, and I’ll bring this fresh vanilla cream fruit tart with me.

Recipe for vanilla cream
500ml whole milk
1 vanilla bean, seeds scraped out
a generous pinch of salt
4 tablespoons of cornstarch
110g sugar
2 large eggs
40g butter, cut in small cubes

 

One Response to “Vanila Pods”

  1. Sonny Says:

    Nothing like real vanilla beans! Yum!


Leave a Reply

